Launching October 2026 Turo rentals and Wag boarding & walks are open now.
Verified Stays

4 dog-friendly Cottonwood stays: the Verde Valley basecamp.

This post has four stays in it, not five. We tried for five. We couldn't verify a fifth Cottonwood property with a current, source-backed dog policy, and padding the list with a maybe would make the other four worth less. So: four.

Cottonwood earns the trip anyway. The City states it sits along the Verde River at elevations ranging from 3,300 to 3,900 feetCity of Cottonwood. That's not Flagstaff cool, but it's meaningfully off the Valley floor, and it puts you inside twenty minutes of Sedona, Clarkdale, Jerome, and a state park with a river running through it. Old Town Main Street is walkable, shaded in stretches, and full of shops that don't flinch at a leash.

One thing we can't tell you: the drive time from Phoenix. No source we read this round gives a Phoenix-to-Cottonwood figure, and we're not going to extrapolate from the verified Phoenix–Prescott run of about 100 miles and two hours, because that's a different highway and a different route. Map it yourself the morning you go.

1. The Tavern Hotel — the Dog Cottage

904 N. Main Street, on Historic 89A in Old Town. Front desk 928.639.1669.

The important structural fact: the Dog Cottage is one of only two pet-friendly spaces at the Tavern Hotel. The rest of the property is pet-free, per the hotel's FAQ. Which means two things — you're not competing with a hallway full of barking, and if both spaces are booked, there's no talking your way into a third.

  • Pet fee: not stated. The FAQ mentions only an additional cleaning or damage charge, not a set fee. Call to confirm what you'll actually pay.
  • Amenities: heated pool open 8 a.m.–8 p.m., held at 82° year-round, and complimentary EV charging (J1772, 7.7 kW) — The Tavern Hotel.
  • Check-in age: 21+.

Free EV charging at an Old Town basecamp is a real consideration if you're driving electric up from the Valley — it turns the overnight into a full recharge instead of a detour.

2. The Tavern Hotel — the Dog Suite

Same address, different room, and worth listing separately because the policy is different. 450 square feet, two guests, up to two dogs, and pets must be kenneled or crated if left alone in the room — The Tavern Hotel. King bed, two flat-screens, pup-inspired decor, and a welcome gift for the dog. Doug approves of any hotel that hands him something at check-in.

The honest part, and it's a real one: the hotel's own pages contradict each other. The Dog Suite page simultaneously says "up to two dogs" and "No pets allowed" — both, on the same page. Weight limit and fee are not stated anywhere we could find. This isn't a knock on the hotel; it's a website that's out of sync with itself. Book this one by phone and get the policy confirmed by a person.

When a hotel's own page says both "up to two dogs" and "no pets allowed," the answer isn't on the internet. It's on the phone.

3. Lux Verde Hotel — best amenities, murkiest policy

301 West SR 89-A, 928-634-4207 — Lux Verde. Complimentary American breakfast buffet, 24-hour front desk, free onsite parking, Verde Valley views — Lux Verde.

Now the part you need to read carefully. The hotel's own website states no pet policy at all. Not a restrictive one — none. Everything we can tell you comes from booking sites, and they don't agree:

  • TripsWithPets: $15 per pet per night plus a $15/night pet deposit, up to two pets, 75-pound weight limit.
  • Travelocity: $25 per pet per night plus a $25/night deposit.

That's a spread of $20 a night, doubled, before you even ask about the deposit refund. Call the property to confirm current pet fees before booking. 928-634-4207. Ask three questions: fee, deposit, weight cap.

4. Best Western Cottonwood Inn — call first, genuinely

993 South Main Street. Best Western's official property page confirms the hotel "features … pet-friendly rooms" and then states no fee, no weight limit, no pet count, and no breed restriction. All four unstated on the official page.

Travelocity lists $27.46 per pet per day, dogs only — an oddly precise number that reads like a tax-inclusive conversion, which is another reason to verify it directly.

Amenities are the reliable part: complimentary full hot breakfast, outdoor pool, guest laundry — Best Western.

The honest part: TripAdvisor Q&A responses for this property point guests to call the hotel directly at 928-634-5575 because pet acceptance varies. When a property tells you acceptance varies, believe them. Call. Get a name.

Why isn't there a fifth Cottonwood stay?

The obvious candidate was the Iron Horse Inn at 1034 N Main St. We couldn't publish it, because the available information is directly contradictory. One TripAdvisor management answer says "Unfortunately we do not allow pets anymore" while another on the same site says "We are pet friendly!! There is a pet fee depending on the size of the pet." Skyscanner lists "Pets not allowed."

That's not a gap we can paper over with an optimistic sentence. If you want to resolve it, call the Iron Horse Inn yourself — and if you get a clear answer, tell us and we'll update this post with your name on the assist.

A shaded patio with wine on it

Da Vines Vineyard Wines & Bistro — 705 N Main St, Old Town, (928) 634-6710. Their own site invites you to "hang out on our shaded, dog-friendly patio," which is exactly the language you want from a source. Hours: Monday–Saturday 11 a.m.–8:30 p.m., Sunday 9 a.m.–3 p.m. Address and phone are corroborated by Old Town Cottonwood.

Ten minutes up the road in Clarkdale, Chateau Tumbleweed has a dog-friendly patio with Verde Valley views — Visit Cottonwood.

Dead Horse Ranch State Park: the morning walk

675 Dead Horse Ranch Rd., (928) 634-5283 — Arizona State Parks park map. This is why you stay in Cottonwood instead of Sedona. Cottonwood galleries, river trails, and a fraction of the crowd.

The rules, from the park's own facility page: pets must be leashed, may not be left unattended, owners must clean up, and pets are not permitted in park buildingsArizona State Parks. The official page doesn't state a maximum leash length; the park map and pet-travel sources cite six feet. Six feet is the safe assumption statewide anyway.

Visitor Center and Park Store hours are 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m. daily except December 25 — Arizona State Parks. General park gate hours are not published on that page. TripAdvisor lists 6 a.m.–10 p.m.; treat that as unverified and call the park if you're planning a sunrise start.

And carry every drop of water your dog will need. We could not confirm dog water availability anywhere on the trails, so assume there is none.

The two-town play

Here's how we'd actually use Cottonwood: basecamp Friday night, Dead Horse Ranch early Saturday before the heat, Old Town's antique row mid-morning while the shops are cool and quiet, a long afternoon nap, Da Vines patio at five. Sunday, drive the twenty minutes up to Jerome or over to Clarkdale, then home.

If you want the higher-elevation version of the same weekend, Prescott is about an hour west and sits in the mid-5,000s. Cottonwood's Main Street antique stores are covered in our high country thrift and vintage guide — Paws Boutique Thrift Store is right in the middle of it. And even at 3,500 feet in July, run the pavement test before every walk. Verde Valley asphalt still bakes.

Four stays, honestly counted. Want the car sorted too? Here's where to find us.


Verified September 2026 · walked with Doug

Rent the car that already knows the route

Our Turo vehicles come dog-ready — seat cover, water bowl, and a driver who has done this drive with three dogs in the back.

Book a Thrive Vibes ride →
← Back to all stories